Save log data as individual binary files

Hello! I am a very new IO Ninja user so I'm not sure of all the functionality yet so I apologies if this is something that is easily done.

I am a security researcher and I'm using IO Ninja to investigate how applications are using named pipes. I would like to extract all the data sent to a named pipe from IO Ninja but I want to save the binary data into individual files that I can replay using other code I have written.

I found that I save the data as txt but it's all the logs instead of individual ones. Is there any functionality that would be able to do with?

Hello Dan,

If you want to filter data flowing in one direction (i.e., leave TX-only or RX-only), you can apply the TX/RX Filter.

Beware, that with the Pipe Monitor plugin, each block of data will be visible twice (i.e., once as TX for one side of the connection, and once as RX for the other side). If you want to get rid of this duplication, you can first filter the log using the file ID (i.e., first, leave only data visible by one side of the connection) -- and then apply the TX/RX filter to leave TX-only or RX-only.

And of course, you can post-process the captured .njlog log file in any custom way you want -- with a script written in any language of your choice. The log file format is very simple and all relevant definitions are open-source:

scripts/api/log_RecordFile.jnc
scripts/api/log_RecordCode.jnc

Thanks for this information! Can you provide the full urls to the log_RecordFile.jnc and log_RecordCode.jnc? I couldn’t find them with google search.

@vladimir said in Save log data as individual binary files:

Hello Dan,

If you want to filter data flowing in one direction (i.e., leave TX-only or RX-only), you can apply the TX/RX Filter.